Going (notary) public pt 2: Apply online

The online application process for Washington state

Andre Stackhouse
7 min readApr 5, 2023
The masthead of the Washington page of notaries.com. Screenshot courtesy of notaries.com.
The masthead of the Washington page of notaries.com. Screenshot courtesy of notaries.com.

Welcome to part 2 of Going (Notary) Public, a series on the why, how, and what of becoming a notary public. In this post I will breakdown the online application process I followed in order to become licensed in Washington state. Please click here to read Part 1 where I go over what a noatry is and why I’m becoming one.

How to apply online

There very well may be other ways to apply but I did not look farther than my smartphone and the first search result.

A public option?

It didn’t occur to me until after I had completed the online application through notaries.com that because I had done the search on my phone I probably hadn’t gone out of my way to skip past the sponsored results at the top of Google.

Normally I’d opt to skip these and go based on the unsponsored search results which confirmed my next suspicion — you can apply directly via the Washington state Department of Licensing (DOL) website and skip the corporate experience replete with profit-seeking upsells.

That said, my own process was done first through notaries.com and I will be documenting that below.

The notaries.com…

--

--

Andre Stackhouse

An inventor, a pseudojournalist, a contrarian’s contrarian. Twitter: @CaptainStack